Hosted by IDTechEx
Expert insight into global developments
LAND-SEA-AIR
HomeEventsReportsAdvertiseTVCareersAbout UsSign-up or LoginIDTechExTwitterFacebookLinkedInGoogle+YoutubeRSSForward To Friend
Posted on March 29, 2017

Webinar Tuesday 11 April 2017 - Airborne Wind Energy

Electric Vehicle Energy Harvesting/Regeneration 20
Webinar Title: Airborne Wind Energy: Electricity from Kites and Drones Comes to Market
Date: Tuesday 11 April 2017
Presenter: Dr Peter Harrop, Chairman, IDTechEx
 
Space is limited - reserve your seat today!
 
This webinar shares research recently carried out for the new IDTechEx Research report, Airborne Wind Energy (AWE) 2017-2027 External Link. Tethered kites and aircraft and the like can produce electricity from the stronger and more consistent winds higher than those reached by conventional wind turbines. They can be made almost invisible and silent and they use one tenth of the materials. That means they can at least double the number of places where wind power can be viably captured. Some can self-launch even when ground wind is zero and autonomous flying and landing are being demonstrated. We therefore have the groundwork for operation where conventional wind turbines have inadequate wind or are too ugly and noisy and use as replacement for some diesel gensets, sometimes in combination with solar. Cost of electricity produced is likely to be very low eventually and there are other benefits but also technical challenges.
 
This webinar will cover:
 
1. Pros and cons of the technical options from cloth kites to fixed wing, multicopter and balloon aerostat.
2. Two very different systems needed for two very different tasks: Low power off-grid mobile genset and wind farm on-grid high power.
Autonomous Vehicles Land, Water, Air 2017-2037
3. Why AWE will never fully replace conventional wind turbines.
4. First commercial sales 2017-8. Who? What?
5. Market potential.
 
Please note your details may be shared with our sponsors.
 
We will be holding exactly the same webinar twice in one day. Please register for which ever session is most convenient for you.
 
Date: Tuesday 11 April 2017
Duration: 30 minutes plus 10 minutes for Q&A
 
Webinar #1: Europe & Asia-Pacific
 
10:00am (BST, GMT +1) London
11:00am (GMT +2) Amsterdam, Berlin, Rome
12:00 noon (GMT +3) Athens, Jerusalem
5:00pm (GMT +8) Bangkok
6:00pm (GMT+9) Singapore, Taipei, Beijing
7:00pm (GMT+10) Tokyo, Seoul
9:00pm (GMT+12) Canberra
 
 
Webinar #2: Americas
 
9:00am (Pacific DT) USA & Canada
10:00am (Mountain DT) USA & Canada
11:00am (Central DT) USA & Canada
12:00noon (Eastern DT) USA & Canada
5:00pm (BST, GMT + 1) London
 
 
Learn more at the next leading event on the topic: Energy Independent Electric Vehicles 2017 External Link on 27 - 28 Sep 2017 in TU Delft, Delft, Netherlands hosted by IDTechEx.