Hosted by IDTechEx
HomeWebinarsEventsReportsAdvertiseTVCareersAbout UsIDTechExTwitterFacebookLinkedInYoutubeRSSForward To Friend
Electric Vehicles Research
Posted on January 24, 2019 by Annick Garrington

Webinar Thursday 7 February- Transition to Electric and Hybrid Boats

Webinar Title: The Transition to Electric and Hybrid Boats and Ships: Markets and Drivers
Date: Thursday 7 February
Presenter: IDTechEx Technology Analyst, Luke Gear
 
Space is limited - reserve your seat today!
 
The history of pure electric and hybrid vessels dates back over a hundred years -- the boat Lady Lena from 1890 may be the oldest still in existence. Since the early 2010s, sales of pure electric and hybrid vessels have picked up, driven by the need to reduce local pollution of NOx, SOx and particulate matter.
 
While vessel operators have mainly turned to low-sulphur fuels such as methanol and LNG, as well as invested in scrubbers to clean tail-pipe gases before they are released, some have already invested in hybrid and electric powertrains. IDTechEx expects this to accelerate after 2020 when stringent global sulphur regulations come into force, and there is an oversupply of high-sulphur fuel oil. Fuel economy, rising fuel prices and a pleasant riding experience (reductions to noise and vibrations) is also driving the change.
 
Although a transition is underway, ultimately there will be a coexistence with today's propulsion technologies because of upfront cost, range anxiety, lack of charging infrastructure and the slowness of change in the marine industry.
 
In this IDTechEx webinar, an overview of the key marine segments where IDTechEx has observed a leap to electric and hybrid vessels is presented, along with the main regulatory and technological drivers that are facilitating the change.
 
The content of the webinar is taken from the brand new IDTechEx report - Electric and Hybrid Boats and Ships 2019 - 2029.
 
We will be holding exactly the same webinar three times in one day. Please register for whichever session is most convenient for you.
 
Date: Thursday 7 February
Duration: 35 minutes
 
Webinar #1: Asia-Pacific
10:00am (GMT+8) Singapore, Taipei, Beijing
10:00am (GMT+8) Australian Western Standard Time
11:00am(GMT+9) Tokyo, Seoul
12:30pm(GMT+10.30) Australian Central Time
1:00pm(GMT+11) Australian Eastern Time
3:00pm (GMT+13) Auckland, New Zealand
 
Webinar #2: Europe
10:00am (GMT) London
11:00am (GMT+1) Amsterdam, Berlin, Rome
12:00noon(GMT+2) Athens, Jerusalem
 
Webinar #3: Americas
9:00am (Pacific Time PT) USA & Canada
10:00am (Mountain MST) USA & Canada
11:00am (Central CST) USA & Canada
12:00noon(Eastern EST) USA & Canada
5:00pm (GMT) London
 
 
Annick Garrington

Authored By: Annick Garrington

Posted on: January 24th 2019